Just Chillin …

"But I don't want to go among mad people …"

Children and Commission

I've decided to start the little guy (5 yr old son) on commission. I used to think in terms of allowance and chores, but I've changed it to commission after listening to Dave Ramsey's take on the topic.  The idea is simple, if you don't work you don't get paid.  The recommended dollar value I've come across is $1 per week for every age. I'm starting off slow and offering my son $2 per week if he does 2 chores. They are:

  1. Change and add new water for Koda the Cat
  2. Make his bed

He has to do these EVERYDAY in order to get paid on Sunday.

To teach my son a bit about money, I'm planning to take him to the bank this weekend to change the money in his piggy bank to dollars.  Then, I will crumple up the dollars and place them in a clear rectangular container in his room. Now, if he wants to buy something, he will have to use his own money. 

I found a nice website of chore charts. I'm starting him off with the "Genius" chart.

Written by antnp

July 21, 2010 at 7:59 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

