Just Chillin …

"But I don't want to go among mad people …"

You Need a Budget Software (YNAB)

leave a comment »

I've been using the You Need a Budget (aka YNAB) software now for about a month and I must say that it ROCKS!

What really made the software "stick" for me was the foundation methodology:

  1. Stop Living Paycheck to Paycheck
  2. Give Every Dollar a Job
  3. Save for a Rainy Day
  4. Roll With the Punches

Rather than go into detail about the 4 Rules, I would advise everyone to check out the "How YNAB is Different" section on the main website about half way down the page.

If you're thinking about finding better ways to manage and track your financials, I would recommend the following approach:

  1. Go through YNAB University (read or listen)
  2. Download the 7 Day FREE Trial
  3. Check out the Quick Start Guide

At the end of the 7 day trial, I ended up purchasing the software for my own personal use. In fact, I liked the software SO MUCH, that I purchased a gift code for a member of my family!

The other great thing about YNAB is all of the support.  Jesse, the founder of YNAB, has a blog that is regularly updated with new information about the software and stories about personal finance.  I especially like the Whiteboard Wednesday category as it explains some of the usage and thoughts behind the functionality of YNAB.  Additionally, there are free coaching sessions that you can sign up for as well as a forum for discussion.

As you can probably tell, I'm a HUGE fan of the software and really enjoy using it to mange my personal finances and budget. If you're still having reservations, check out the reviews and see what others have to say.

Written by antnp

May 22, 2010 at 3:32 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

