Just Chillin …

"But I don't want to go among mad people …"

Digital Camera Purchase and Left 4 Dead

with one comment

Last night after coming home from work, I look at my wife and say to her, “I caved.”.  She gave me a slightly puzzled look and said, “What did you do?” I then told her that I bought a digital camera. I got a really good deal on a Canon SD880 IS that is basically $100 below MSRP, and roughly $50 lower and other retailers. This did not really surprise her too much as I have been talking about getting a new camera for a while now.

My old camera is a Canon SD400 and is the same one that I purchased in like 2002. I think it’s time for an upgrade as the shutter speed and autofocus mechanism is starting to get a bit long in the tooth.  Plus, not many people are still using their camera 6 year old camera in this day and age (at least that’s what I say to justify buying a new one).  Anyhoo, enough dilly dallying, I bit the bullet and purchased the camera at a very good price.

My wife told me she thought I purchased Left 4 Dead or something. The funny thing is that I almost bought it yesterday on impulse after reading all of the good feedback and reviews. Additionally, I wanted a good co-op game that both my wife and I could play together and enjoy.  Sure, we could do that with MMOs but lately neither one of us have had the urge to log into MMOs, even with the recent release of World of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King.  She has commented to me that she feels more of an urge to log into Fallout 3 and try the story again, except this time chaotic evil 😉

So after dinner, I purchased Left 4 Dead (L4D) via Steam and began the download process. Instead of both of us downloading the game at the same time, I took a gamble and let her download the game.  I would then do a backup of her game files and install the backup on my computer. This shouldn’t be an issue since both of us have purchased the game via Steam.  Luckily for me, it worked out well using the Steam backup/restore mechanism and we were up and running in no time.

Setting up a multiplayer campaign for just her and I was quite simple. At first the game tried to find a dedicated server, but I cancelled that and opted to host the game locally on my machine. In retrospect, I should have probably hosted the game on her machine as hers is slightly better than mine (video card, sound card).  Anyhoo, we had to fiddle with the in-game audio and changed the setting to open mic and we were up and running. I thought about using our local ventrilo server, but opted against it after seeing the chat bubbles over the heads of the in-game characters.

Overall, we had a great time and really enjoyed ourselves. We did the first 2 stages of the first movie. It was a bit off setting there was no way to save our progress, but the stages should still be fun the second time thru as the spawns (zombie, weapons, health) are random.  One of the really cool things about L4D is the in-game achievement system. I also really like how the game provides text feedback on who saved who, who killed the elite zombie, etc.  Also, it was quite cool to see the zombies behaving differently. Example, some zombies would just stumble around and then a couple would just come running at you (ala 28 Days Later).  I really like seeing a mad-rabie zombie dashing towards my team mates.. I know, a bit sadistic of me, but it’s a game.

Written by antnp

November 21, 2008 at 2:40 pm

Posted in technology, video games

Tagged with , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. oh here is what really happened….I(avan’s wife) was surrounded by zombies because I was coming back to help avan. I had already made my way to the deck and was waiting for the boat before realizing avan was still in the house….even tho the game clearly announced the arrival of the boat. (No excuse for “not knowing where to go”….the boat is gonna be in the water…dork)….so what really happened was that I came back to try to save avan and was killed in the process……here you are trying to make yourself look like the hero… 😛

    amaia

    November 26, 2008 at 11:08 pm


Leave a Reply

