Just Chillin …

"But I don't want to go among mad people …"

World of Warcraft Paid Pve to PvP Character Transfers

leave a comment »

World of Warcraft (WoW) has now opened up paid PvE to PvP character transfers. I am surprised? Not really.  I knew this would happen sooner or later as it’s a quick $25 per character in Blizzard’s pocket.  Was I tempted, yes.

Both my wife and I had leveled up to 70 on a Player vs Player (PvP) server with some real life coworkers of mine. We had a blast of a time leveling and dealing with the random world PvP here and there.  Additionally, if we got into too much trouble, we could easily call upon our level 70 pimped out PvP warrior to show the Alliance fools what’s what.  But, after hitting level 70, things changed dramatically.

I am more of a casual player logging on for maybe 1.5 hours per session during the weeknight, sometimes 3-4 hours on the weekend.  Trying to get my flying epic mount requires 5,000 gold and the easiest way to get gold is to run the daily quests on the Isle of Quel’Danas.  For those not in the know, on a PvP server, the isle is gankfest city.  Without ganking, one could easily complete the 8 or so quests on the isle in around 40 mins, yielding roughly 85 gold. Not bad.  With ganking, this time could easily extend to over 2 hours and you still may not be able to complete all the quests.  The ganking got so bad that my wife would either do the isle dailies very early in the morning or very late at night to avoid the gankers. I did not really have this option as I try to get to bed by 9:30pm and wake up by 4:30am.  The only time I could really play was at 8pm, roughly server peak time.

Not wanting my play time to be dictated by punk gankers, I decided to make the move and transfer my character from a PvP server to a Player vs Environment (PvE) server. This basically means that someone from the opposite faction could not attack me unless I flagged myself for PvP, or attack them first.  In other words, I control when and who I PvP with.  After making this decision and telling my wife about it, she decided to follow me to a new PvE server.

Things were all peachy and keen in the Carebear PvE world.  I got my epic flying mount, we both amassed a gang load of gold, but over time things started to get boring.  The edge of playing on a PvP server was gone.  We no longer had to worry about that pesky Rogue sneaking up on us from behind while we attacked another mob. Additionally, we missed seeing our old buddies online.  We really had no “friends” on the new server and had to start over.

After a while, the allure of WoW began to diminish for us. The game turned into a time sink that was just about grinding.  This reminds me of a picture quote I recently ran across:

The Grind:

Success comes not to the fast or the skilled, but to the patient… and unemployed.

Eventually, we ended up canceling our WoW accounts, even after getting into and playing the Wrath of the Lich King beta. It’s all just more of the same grind.  We were both WoW’ed Out.

However, I am surprised at the timing of Blizzard’s actions in regards to Wrath of the Lich King and the launch of Warhammer Online (WAR) just around the corner.  Maybe Blizzard is concerned about losing some of their player base to WAR?  In fact, when I canceled my WoW subscription, I put “Going to another game – Warhammer Online” as my reason for leaving.  At this point, the thought of WoW just leaves a bad taste in my mouth, so much that I have slowly been unsubscribing to WoW related podcasts, unsubscribed to the WoW Insider new feed, and will most likely be canceling my Wrath of the Lich King preorder.

Written by antnp

September 12, 2008 at 7:08 am

Posted in video games

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

