Just Chillin …

"But I don't want to go among mad people …"

DVD Burning DISC-AT-ONCE Error

leave a comment »

After upgrading to a new computer I started getting some very weird DVD Burning Errors. Basically, the errors consisted of the following message (from Nero Output Log):

#32 CDR -1080 File ThreadedTransferInterface.cpp, Line 1820
Disc not present
E: PIONEER DVD-RW  DVR-216D

#33 TRANSFER -24 File ThreadedTransferInterface.cpp, Line 1820
Could not perform end of Disc-at-once

** Note, this would happen at the very end of the burning sequence after everything has finished and the application would begin finalizing the disc

At first, I just attributed the errors to bad media, but I’ve never had this issues before with my Ridata DVD+R discs. Based on the DigitalFAQ Blank DVD Media Quality Guide, my Ridatas are considered 2nd class media and are ‘OKAY’. Again, I have been using these discs for a couple of years now and only run into coasters or weird video artifacts every now and then (less than 10% of the time). So I tried using different media and the same error messages appeared.

Next, I uninstalled Nero 7 and did a trial for Nero 8. Nada.. same thing!  Searching around on various forums, I confirmed my drives are functioning in DMA (though for SATA drives, DMA is not really applicable as it’s checked and grayed out). THEN, I ran across a post stating the problem could be due to some software changes in Nero and that I should use IMGBurn instead.

It was getting late, so I figured, what the heck. I uninstalled Nero, ran the Nero cleaning utility, rebooted my computer, installed ImgBurn, lo and behold, IT WORKED! In fact, for a free program, it worked quite well after checking out a guide on how to burn DVDs with ImgBurn.

Long story short: Use ImgBurn, it rocks!

Written by antnp

August 15, 2008 at 6:15 am

Posted in technology

Leave a Reply

