Just Chillin …

"But I don't want to go among mad people …"

Kribensis Fry

with 5 comments

That’s right folk, the pairing was a success and now I have kribensis (krib) fry swimming about.  On Monday of this week, I was peaking into the tank when I thought a huge mass of plant decay had accumulated in front of the cave structure. However, upon closer inspection, I could see little wrigglers moving about as the parent’s hovered nearby.

I was so happy and excited that I yelled for my wife and son to come down and have a peak. This is the first time I have EVER had any fish breed over my 15 yrs or so of fish keeping.  However it’s good to note I never really kept fish that are known to breed like the kribs.

The fry and parents tend to stay around the cave structure. The parents will take turns guarding the fry and while the other parent feeds or fends off other fish. One peculiar thing I notice is sometimes the parents will ‘shake’ a bit while they are hovering over the fry. I’m not sure if this is some sort of signal that it’s time to move camp or something, but often times the fry will swim up around the parent when this happens.

Last night while both parents were guarding the fry in a little alcove, I witnessed a corydora julii catfish leap over a branch and pounced upon the unsuspecting fry. I’m not sure if he was able to catch any for a meal, but both parents immediately attacked him until he left the vicinity.  It was interesting to watch and really demonstrates natural selection within nature.

But, the good comes with the bad. After the spawning, the krib parents have become very territorial. As such, I’ve lost a couple of fish in the process.  These include: Less dominant female krib, 2 dwarf gouramis. A total of 3 losses thus far. I’m not too concerned about the corydoras as they have some armor like coating. The cherry barbs are fast and generally keep to themselves. The only other possible concern is the single male dwarf gourami.  I’ve seen him ‘butting head’ and getting tag-teamed by the krib parents a couple of times, but overall, he remains unharmed.

Written by antnp

December 6, 2007 at 2:57 pm

Posted in aquarium

Tagged with , ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations! That’s wonderful news!

    Mania

    December 6, 2007 at 9:03 pm

  2. Thanks, Mania. It is very excited and scary at the exact same time. There is a bit of fright due to now knowing what do do with all the fry…. I am planning to leave as is and let nature take its course for now.

    wujimon

    December 7, 2007 at 1:30 pm

  3. I know what you mean. Well, the only thing I have ever had breed were mollies, and they were all promptly eaten by their parents, but .. I can still imagine how you must feel. :>

    Mania

    December 8, 2007 at 8:11 am

  4. When fry appear in your tank, it’s wonderful to watch, especially with cichlids, are they’ll guard their young. In my experience with Apistos, if you have other fish in the tank, each day a few babies will get picked off, and only in a heavily planted tank will you end up with a few that reach adulthood. Usually that’s a good thing, as you don’t want to deal with 50 adult kribs!

    Kris

    December 9, 2007 at 2:39 pm

  5. Hi Kris. It’s been about a week after the fry have hatched and I still see about 30 or so of them swimming with the parents. I have a decently planted tank, so there is some good cover for the little ones.

    I’m excited to just sit back and watch. Fun times 🙂

    BTW, Kris, Great blog you got there! 🙂

    wujimon

    December 9, 2007 at 3:54 pm


Leave a Reply

