Just Chillin …

"But I don't want to go among mad people …"

Starting the Aquarium Journey

leave a comment »

It has been over 5 years since I’ve had an aquarium. But things are about to change. Over the weekend, the family and I, headed to one of our local pet stores. My son loves looking at all the puppies and kitties, so he was quite excited. Personally, I’m a fan of small dogs like yorkshire terriers, shih tzus, etc and my wife like big guys like malamutes, huskies and german shepherds.

Anyhoo, we saw very cute shih tzu, maltese mixed puppy that was about 8 weeks old.  She was so cute, running around and trying to jump up and lick my son’s face. While it was fun, we both realized a puppy might be a bit more than we can handle right now. With both of us working full-time jobs, a 3 year old ninja-warrior-wanna-be is good enough for us πŸ™‚

My wife then looked at me and said, “Why don’t you start up your aquarium again? Get what you need today and let’s get it setup!” While I didn’t plan to start up until mid winter or so, figured today would be as good as any! I already had a 30″ Length stand from my previous setup, so this could house either a 20L gallon, 29 gallon or a 37 gallon tank. In the aquarium world, the saying is, ‘the bigger, the better’, so I opted for a black 37 gallon tank from All-Glass Aquarium.

I then told the sales person I was considering Fluorite for a substrate as I’m planning to do a freshwater planted tank, and asked for his further suggestion.  He suggested I consider the Eco-Complete as it’s less filmy to deal with and is packed with some live bacteria to get the cycling going. Additionally, it comes in a nice dark color to really contrast the fish. I picked up 3 bags of Eco-Complete.

Getting home, I dug all of my aquarium supplies. Luckily for me, I had planned this way in advance (like bought some of the equipment in 2002!) and had a brand-spanking-new Eheim Pro II 2026 Canister Filter and a Thomas Barr custom designed CO2 Reactor (an example of a CO2 reactor, basically a chamber to diffuse the CO2 gas with the water).

Now, I had an aquarium a filter, some old compact fluorescent lighting (2×65 watt), but I was missing some key elements like a heater, test kits (didn’t want to use my old ones) and a bucket πŸ™‚ However, recalling all the back breaking moments of transporting 5 gallons of water to and from sink to tank, I had to find another option. Luckily for me, something called a Python No Spill Clean N Fill has been developed since my bucket carrying days. 

From a stocking perspective, I would like to do either a kribensis or some type of apistogramma. I’m leaning a bit more towards the kribs, but ya never know πŸ˜‰  I’m excited, it’s been such a long time since I’ve had an aquarium and I think my son will really enjoy assisting me in the maintenance πŸ™‚

Written by antnp

September 25, 2007 at 8:01 pm

Posted in aquarium

Leave a Reply

