Just Chillin …

"But I don't want to go among mad people …"

World of Warcraft Battleground Grind

with 2 comments

It’s been about 4 months since I began this journey into the World of Warcraft. It has been a long an arduous journey of questing, crafting, leveling, instance running, and PvP’ing. For that past month or so, both of my toons began participating in the 20-29 PvP battleground (BG) bracket. Now, I wish I would’ve leveled my toons separately, as the battleground grind is taking it’s toll.

There are two battlegrounds available in this level bracket. Warsong Gulch, which is basically capture the flag and Arathi Basin, which is very similar to king of the mountain or domination in first person shooter terms.

All realms, irregardless of type (PvE, PvP, RP) can participate in battlegrounds. There are many reasons to participate. Some play battlegrounds for PvP (Player vs Player) fun, while others play for the rewards. For me, I started out playing for the PvP item rewards, after all, WoW is all about the loot, right??

With my hunter, I was able to get ALL of the Arathi Basin PvP rewards, which made me quite happy. One thing I’ve learned in the BGs, is that once you’re on a roll, don’t jump off the horse. Some nights, we’ll win 2-3 matches in a row (FOR THE HORDE!) other nights, we’ll lose royally. In order to get the PvP rewards, you must collect the appropriate BG tokens. The winning team gets 3 tokens and the losing team gets 1 token. Most PvP rewards go for roughly 20 BG tokens and a certain number of Honor Points, gained via honorable kills of meeting BG objectives.

To get all of the Arathi Basin (AB) PvP rewards at level 29, you’ll need roughly 771 honor points and 70 AB Tokens. Also, note an average match of AB takes around 25 mins. This will get you boots, belt and talisman, but what does it really entail. Generally the tokens are the bottleneck, so let us explore that a bit further.

Based on the number of tokens per win/lose, one would have to play:

High Value: 70 AB matches ~ 29.2 hrs

Low Value: 24 AB Matches ~ 10.0 hrs

Of course, the ideal would be the low value of only playing 24 matches, but this is rarely the case. Note, the above example only shows the values for the Arathi Basin battleground. Warsong Gulch is a totally different beast that can take anywhere from 10 mins to more than 1 hour for a single match!

Ultimately, the question we must ask ourselves is:

How much time am I willing to invest for this gear?

Whether it be for PvP rewards or Instance drops, I think ultimately we all ask this question. For me, I must remember that IT’S A GAME and it’s meant to be enjoyable. If I’m not having fun playing this game in my leisure, what’s the point?

I have to admit, I’ve gotten very frustrated in this BG grinding that I’ve decided to roll ANOTHER alt character. When the BGs are in their lull, I jump over to my alt and enjoy the questing and learning a new class. With my new alt, I’m gonna take my time and enjoy the World of Warcraft instead of focusing on leveling as quickly as possible.

Written by antnp

July 11, 2007 at 12:59 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I just started playing FlyFF, a free MMORPG that is fairly fun. I’m too cheap to pay 30/month although I will throw away $30 on nothing in any other instance. You will never beat the addicted children, they have too much time on their hands, so you might as well just enjoy it.

    cya round

    Taijiquan in Tampa

    October 31, 2007 at 5:53 pm

  2. FlyFF looks pretty cool, very final fantasy-ish. I was happy to see the various class breakdowns and such.

    As for tossing the cash, here WoW is about $15/month, slightly less if you pay in advanced. Like you, I was hesitant at first to pay monthly fees for a game, but in the end, I believe you get what you pay for. With WoW, it’s now easy to justify the costs as the game is good.

    Give it a try πŸ™‚ I have a 10 day free trial code if you’re interested πŸ™‚

    wujimon

    November 2, 2007 at 10:06 am


Leave a Reply

