Just Chillin …

"But I don't want to go among mad people …"

Xbox Live Arcade Rocks!

leave a comment »

Yesterday, my wife told me she was happy we got the Xbox 360, especially after all the fun we’ve been having with the Xbox Live Arcade (XBLA). For those that don’t know, XBLA is basically a place where you can download “arcade” games. These are basically games that can be picked up and played with little commitment.

Over the weekend, my wife had a big kick out of making fun of me while I was playing Cloning Clyde. Sure, I’m not the best gamer out there, but I try.. Sometimes I would miss the jump and fall on my bum, other times I would get lost in the level without really knowing where to go. It was fun for all, even though most of the time at my expense!

I also had a chance to jam on some Lumines Live! I’m quite happy this came out on the XBLA as I had heard about it before on some handheld console. It’s kind of like Tetris but with a slight twist. The music is pretty cool and I dug it, even though it did make me a little tense at times b/c I suck!

Finally, I played a bit of the Crackdown Demo. To me, it’s kind of like a mix of Grand Theft Auto (GTA) with some elements of Role Playing Games (RPG). If you get strong enough, I heard you can literally kick a dude in the air and then shoot him with your gun! I’m not too sure I like the whole gang city violence aspect of the game, but it was pretty fun just driving around and checking out the graphics. One of the reasons I considered this game is for the “Golden Ticket” to take part in the Halo 3 Beta. I’m not too sure I’m ready to fork down $60 for the ticket as I didn’t really like the Crackdown game. Perhaps I’ll give it another chance.

As for my progress on Gears of War, I’m still stick near the end of the first act. Trying to find a way out of the maze before the crazy Berserker beats me down. I think I have the tactics down now, but just been hesitant on jumping back into the game. I’ll probably get to Act 2 by the end of this week, but we’ll see.

Written by antnp

January 29, 2007 at 9:24 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

