Just Chillin …

"But I don't want to go among mad people …"

The Offsite Solution?

with one comment

After reading Chris Pirillo suggesting the internet backup service, Carbonite, I decided to give it a try. I had issues connecting to the carbonite server on Friday and was a bit put off by that. I send an email to support and received a response within an hour they were experiencing server issues. I’m assuming due to the increased traffic …

Anyhoo, it worked later that evening and the installation and setup was quite easy. Nothing too complicated, definitely something anyone could use without much help. After picking my sources for backup, I ended up with about 50G of data I wanted backed up.

Well, it’s been about 2 days or so now and Carbonite has only backed up about 12% of my data with an average upload speed of about 20 KB/s. After reading Nick Starr’s post on backup services, it appears that Carbonite (figured retrieved from FAQs):

  • Backs Up Approx 3G/Day: That means it would take roughly 17 days for my backups to complete? I was really hoping to have the data backup finished before the end of my 15 day trial…
  • Restores at 14-18 G/Day: Wow.. so if I had a big failure or something, it would take roughly 4 days to retrieve the data from Carbonite.

Hmm… I guess this makes sense since they quote a $5 monthly fee for unlimited data storage.  Is Carbonite the solution to my offsite archive dilemna? Perhaps, while it does have some limitations, I feel if using it as a second or even third level of backup, it’s not a bad idea.

Written by antnp

June 5, 2006 at 3:23 pm

Posted in technology

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ultimately, decided that Carbonite was just not the right choice for me. The time it takes to backup/restore was just not really worth it as a third level of defense for what it provides as I already do offsite DVD archives regularly.

    wujimon

    June 20, 2006 at 7:56 pm


Leave a Reply

