Just Chillin …

"But I don't want to go among mad people …"

Component over HDMI

with 2 comments

We’ve had a HDTV for quite some time, but never really shelled out the extra dough for HD programming, until now 😉 My father in law decided to get satellite and he opted for the HD programming. After seeing how clear and nutty a praying mantis looked on Discovery HD, we were sold. It’s roughly $20 extra per month for 23 HD channels. While, it’s true that not all of them are “true” HD, but standard def (SD) rebroadcasted over HD, it’s still all good.

After the installation, the first thing I did was very the resolution. Checking the info on my TV, it showed the signal with a resolution of 1080i. PIMP!! But then I noticed that it showed the input coming from Component Video and not HDMI!?!! This kind of turned me off a bit b/c I figured for the best and highest quality picture, HDMI would need to be used.

But I was wrong. After some testing of viewing the same signal over both HDMI and component, it was a general consensus of 4 people the component video output for HD was much sharper and vibrant than the HDMI output. So I guess that closes the case on which video source to use. We’ll keep the DVD on HDMI for the upconversion.

Written by antnp

June 1, 2006 at 6:22 am

Posted in random

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m looking to upgrade to HDTV and I’m having a hard time deciding between CRT, LCD, and rear projection. I think I want a 42″ and I don’t want plasma because of the half-life and burn-in. The rear projections (e.g.: DLP) bug me, because the bulbs burn out once a year or so and cost a lot of money. LCD can have dead pixels. Sheesh – makes me just want to have a good old reliable CRT, except that they seem very hard to find now, especially in larger sizes.

    Marc

    June 4, 2006 at 12:40 am

  2. Hey Marc. I was in a similar boat as yourself and we were initially going to get the LCD but both my wife and I noticed the “screen door effect” instantaneously and decided to go with the newest samsung DLP that supposed to integrate both DLP and LCD technologies. We’re quite happy with the choice.

    We’ve had ours for over a year and no bulb issues yet… *knock on wood* 🙂

    wujimon

    June 5, 2006 at 2:48 pm


Leave a Reply

