Just Chillin …

"But I don't want to go among mad people …"

Ripping CD Collection

leave a comment »

I’ve mainly been using Exact Audio Copy with the associated LAME MP3 encoder to do all of my ripping and it has worked out quite well, however I recently realized I have not been doing it the most “optimal” way as I had an older version of the LAME encoder installed and wasn’t using the new command line options for fast encoding.

I did some research and ran across Teqnilogik’s EAC Guide. I made some of the modifications it suggested but questioned things a bit when I ran across the command line options it presented. I followed the recommended settings link and ended up at the List of Recommended Lame Settings that really broke things down! I decided to use the command line options recommended settings for ID3v1 and ID3v2:

ID3v1 and ID3v2:
-V 2 –vbr-new –add-id3v2 –pad-id3v2 –ta “%a” –tt “%t” –tl “%g” –ty “%y” –tn “%n” %s %d

This has really made a difference b/c now my ripping is speeding fast! Soon, my whole CD collection will be completely ripped to MP3 to enjoy on my 5G 30G iPod Video!

Written by antnp

November 26, 2005 at 5:33 pm

Posted in technology

Leave a Reply

